Unsung Heroes (Part 1)

*In the photo (from left): Manaf Andi, Athena Han & Mohd Dena

Articles and write-ups have been done on our athletes… their struggles, their triumphs.

We thought it time to turn the spotlight on the people who work tirelessly in the background, so that our athletes perform at their best.

Manaf Andi, Team Manager

Manaf’s role as our team manager is all-encompassing. Not only does he have to deal with mechanical issues with the bikes, logistical issues for races and events, he is also the one who disseminates information and updates to the team. In addition ,he oversees our training sessions.

“I will do my best to facilitate the smooth-running of training sessions. Same goes for race and event participation for both the Development and Junior Teams.”


Athena Han, Coach

Athena responded to our call for coaches and joined the PCFS as a volunteer in July 2017. In October that year, she was roped in as an official in the Singapore para cycling contingent at the Asean Para Games in KL. Athena now oversees the training needs of our vision impaired athletes, and physically inpaired bicyclists. “…There are other things I love about coaching here, but this basis of us all being people who love cycling, that’s fundamental.”



Mohd “Yus” Dena, Coach

Fondly known as Yus, Mohd Dena joined PCFS as a volunteer about 8 years ago.

He usually arrives early at ITE College East on training days to prepare bikes for practice.

Yus is most recognizable by his “parade commander” voice which he uses to issue instructions to the athletes during training.


Thank you Manaf, Athena and Yus for your commitment to the team, and for all the hard work you’ve put in!